The topic of gender identity has been the subject of both media and legislative attention recently. In the workplace, discrimination is a major contributor to the especially high rates of unemployment and underemployment faced by transgender people. These workers are often fired, paid less or harassed because of who they are. So it is not surprising that federal standards and state laws are being crafted to protect from workplace discrimination individuals that are transgender or express their gender in a non-conforming way. More...
There is great news for South Dakota employees’ sustaining a work-related injury and have more than one job. The South Dakota Supreme Court has recently determined that an employee’s wages from all jobs could be used to calculate his or her average weekly wage for purposes of workers’ compensation benefits. The decision comes after a South Dakota employee appealed the administrative law judge’s determination that she was not allowed to aggregate her wages from her three separate employments in the calculation of her average weekly wage after she sustained work-related injuries when working for Cinna Bakers. More...
The Virginia Employment Commission is promoting the use of its online services for unemployment insurance claims and moving away from the use of in-person services. Specifically, the department has released an updated Unemployment Insurance Notice to Workers. The new posting includes an updated web address for filing a claim for benefits online. The posting also clarifies that online registration for work is required and provides the current website for work registration. References to in-person claim filing at a local VEC office has been removed from the posting. The Customer Contact Center is still available to process claims and respond to claimants via telephone. More...
In 2014, Minnesota passed a new bill (H 2091) that will raise the minimum wage. Under the new law, the minimum wage is scheduled to increase in phases. Starting August 1, 2015, the new minimum wage rates are:
Large employers - $9.00 per hour
Small employers - $7.25 per hour
Training wage rate - $7.25 per hour
Youth wage rate - $7.25 per hour
J-1 Visa - $7.50 per hour More...
Georgia’s State Board of Workers’ Compensation has recently released the updated Workers’ Compensation Bill of Rights. The changes to the mandatory posting come as a result of a new enacted law (Bill H 412). Effective July 1, 2015, the temporary total disability rate, temporary partial disability rate, and surviving spouse benefits will increase. More...
Oregon is the fourth state to pass a statewide law (SB 454) requiring all employers to implement sick leave policies that give employees one week sick leave per year. The law applies to all state and private sector full-time, part-time, seasonal or temporary employees.
Sick Time Accrual & Benefit
Employees generally must accrue sick leave at the minimum rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked. Alternatively, employers may “frontload” or credit eligible employees with a minimum of 40 hours of leave at the beginning of each year.
Employers with operations outside of Portland and who have at least 10 employees working in the state will be required to provide employees up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per year. Employers with Portland operations and who employ at least six employees anywhere in the state will similarly be required to provide up to 40 hours of paid sick leave benefits. Employers with fewer than 10 Oregon-based employees, and fewer than six employees, if operating in Portland, must provide up to 40 hours of unpaid sick leave per year. More...
The Commonwealth of Kentucky Labor Cabinet just announced that it will be holding free informational and training courses in the month of July. Courses will be held at the Kentucky Dam Village State Resort Park in Gilbertsville from July 13 to July 16. The goal is to encourage a safe workplace by offering free safety courses that will be beneficial to both employers and employees. More...
Under certain circumstances a Vermont employer may be required to rehire an employee who has suffered a work related injury. Specifically, an employer must offer the employee reinstatement in the first available, suitable job provided that:
- the employer regularly employs 10 or more employees at least 10 of whom work more than 15 hours a week, and
- the worker recovers from his or her work-related injuries within two years of the onset of the disability. More...
Click on image to enlarge
Each year, Compliance Poster Company attends the Society for Human Resources Management (SHRM) Annual Conference and Exposition to meet with existing customers and to make new connections.
This year, CPC was represented by Sales Manager Sean Viramontez and Compliance Advisor Jennifer Chavez who attended the conference between June 27 and June 30, 2015 in Las Vegas, Nevada. Sean, Jennifer and everyone at CPC would like to thank all the attendees that stopped by our booth and checked out our products and services.
Each year we strive to improve our products and showcase our achievements to our valued business partners and have a bit of fun at the same time. If you missed this year’s SHRM conference, don’t forget to stop by our booth next year!
Starting today, Prince Edward Island minimum wage employees will see an increase in their pay. The minimum wage will increase from $10.35 per hour to $10.50 per hour. The increase comes as part of the provincial government’s plan to help Prince Edward Island families. As for the maximum amounts that may be deducted from the wages of an employee where the employer furnishes board and lodging will remain the same. That is, for board and lodging to maximum amount is $56 per week, for board only is $45, for lodging only is $25 per week, and for single meals is $3.75 per meal.
Compliance Poster Company offers two Prince Edward Island poster update options - a new 2015 Prince Edward Island All-On-OneTM Labor Law Poster or a 2015 Prince Edward Island Minimum Wage Peel 'N PostTM.